top of page

Working Out On Holiday

Life’s about balance, I’m sure you’ve heard me many times over the course of the blog discuss the reasons why so many people don’t manage to stick with their fitness goals. It’s because they try and follow someone else’s life and not find something they love. Everyone’s different and each of us enjoy doing different things, this applies to our fitness.


So what about when we’re on a break and a holiday?


You should never feel like you have to be eating super clean every waking moment of the day or working out every thirty seconds. After all life’s about making memories not getting that 1% body fat. I think that’s partly why people can be successful with their health, it’s because they know missing a training session, having a pizza with friends or having a few beers will not ruin them. What will ruin them is if that’s consistent and they don’t get back on the wagon.


I do think though there’s an argument for hitting the gym when away, for me the main reason is just enjoyment, I enjoy a good session and the post workout glow is something I genuinely love. So if the facilities available I don’t see anything wrong with hoping in for a bit. As long as you feel it isn’t taking away from time spent doing something else. End of the day when you’re away your time is limited to do a certain amount of things, you can exercise when you’re back home.


I owe a lot to training for my mental health, as I’ve previously talked about when I’m injured I’m miserable. I don’t feel I need to exercise to keep sane but I do feel it helps my overall mood.


Third reason, I workout at home, in a garage not really the nicest of conditions or equipment. So going into a proper gym with proper equipment is a breath of fresh air.


Whilst I was away in Greece I tried new equipment, only spent 30 minutes in there and did it first thing in the morning so not to take away from my day. It left me refreshed and pumped for the pool…I mean the day.


Equally I think it's worth mentioning, people work hard. Hard at work, hard at life & hard at the gym. So if you don't allow the downtime to relax you're going to burnout and that's not pretty at all.


If you want to see what I got up to when training on holiday I did a lil post on my Instagram (@cmcg.fitness)


Have a good day everyone, short and sweet blog post for the day.


Thanks


Cameron

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page