top of page

My Breakfast Omelette


Introduction


So I'm no cook, people who know me will know that it's something I very rarely do. However this is probably the one thing I do really well (if I do say so myself). It's something I've kinda adapted over time to include ingredients I really enjoy whilst keeping it healthy. I usually make it on my rest days as I have a bit more time to cook and its lower carbs & higher fat for a better fuel source for the day. If you give it a go please let me know how it goes, it took me a lot of attempts before I managed to crack it. Enjoy!

Macronutrients


Servings: 1


Calories: 891

Protein: 50g

Carbs: 6g

Fats: 52g


Ingredients:


2 rashers of Bacon

50g of Spinach

2 Mushrooms

Goats Cheese (any soft cheese will be best)

4 Eggs

Cooking oil (I use coconut oil & olive oil but you can also use butter)


If you’re watching the video you may see I don’t stick to these ingredients exactly, I was making it for my dad and he likes it a bit different. The ingredients can be played around with depending on what you enjoy (keep the eggs either 3/4 though). And I’ve left the cheese, because everyone loves a different amount of cheese.


Recipe

Start by prepping the mushrooms and then cut them up into pieces. Do the same with the spinach.

Put the pan on a low heat, add a splash of olive oil and fry the mushrooms. Once done put them on one side and do the same with the spinach.*

Take your bacon and trim the fat, don’t take it all off as you’ll need a little bit for frying. Cut bacon into pieces and fry in the pan, once done put to one side.


Next crack your eggs* and place in a bowl. Add salt then whisk eggs until fully combined.


Put some coconut oil in pan and put on low heat. Add the eggs then quickly season with pepper. Once seasoned move the eggs around the pan, you want to make little circles all around the pan so that all eggs cook at the same time not just the ones at the bottom of the pan.

When about 3/4 cooked spread the eggs about the pan with a spatula. Add your ingredients to the centre of the omelette (cheese, bacon, spinach & mushroom)


Fold one side over to cover the ingredients, side the omelette over to the end of the pan and then roll it onto a plate.


I then sprinkle some Worcester sauce over it but you could add chives, parsley whatever you want.


*Lil tips*


You use soft cheese when cooking with eggs because the consistency is similar and will help them combine better


Crack your eggs against each other or on a flat surface to help prevent getting egg shell in your whisking bowl.


You cook your fillings before your eggs because you want to take the moisture out of them so it doesn’t leak into your eggs. This makes sure your eggs are light and fluffy rather than wet and soggy.


With a french omelette you're looking for a vary pale colour omelette and you fold to look like a wrap. American omelettes are more brown and look like a semi circle.


The End

That’s my blog post for today, something a bit different and I hope you enjoyed it. I’ve been trying to cook more during lockdown so I’m sure I’ll have some more recipes for you all.


Be sure to subscribe if you enjoyed it and go follow me on Instagram I’m trying to get to 1k by the end of the month so every little helps.


Thanks


Cameron


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page